SD1 Recognizes Contractors for Storm Water Management Efforts

12/05/2019 -

FORT WRIGHT, Ky.Sanitation District No. 1 (SD1) has presented the 2019 Erosion Prevention and Sediment Control Excellence Award to two local construction companies for their proactive approach to addressing storm water challenges, timely implementation of best management practices (BMPs) and for ensuring their projects have minimal off-site impacts on our local environment.

The 14th annual awards recognize Jacob Aufdenkamp (Coyle SWPPP Professionals) for work on the Three Mile Road regulator replacement station project in Wilder and Jarron Fischer (Fischer Homes) for work on the Tuscany subdivision project in Covington.

“Erosion and sediment control requires constant attention,” said Jason Burlage, SD1’s plan review administrator. “This is an essential element in protecting water quality and the landscape to protect local residents. Coyle SWPPP and Fischer Homes have demonstrated a commitment to this work by embracing BMPs at their job sites.”

BMPs are design, construction and maintenance practices that minimize the impact of storm water runoff by holding it in place, slowing it down and filtering it for pollutants. BMPs such as silt fences and sediment basins ensure that storm water runoff will not erode the soil and cause damage to property and the environment.

### SD1 ###

About SD1
SD1 is responsible for the collection and treatment of northern Kentucky’s wastewater and also serves as the regional storm water management agency. SD1 is the second largest public sewer utility in Kentucky, serving more than 290,000 residents throughout Boone, Campbell and Kenton counties. SD1 maintains approximately 1,600 miles of sanitary-sewer system pipeline, 121 wastewater pumping stations, 15 flood pump stations, six package treatment plants, three major wastewater treatment plants, 416 miles of storm-sewer system and 31,106 storm-sewer structures.

Weather Water Quality Data Ohio River Employment Opportunities Legal Disclaimers Site Map
Copyright © 2010, Sanitation District No. 1 of Northern Kentucky | 1045 Eaton Drive, Fort Wright, Kentucky 41017 | 859-578-7450